Munich, Germany

I got to go to Oktoberfest!!!!

We arrived in Munich on Friday afternoon and went straight to the Hofbrauhaus. I had the best meal to date since arriving in Europe. Spoiler alert: the French aren’t very good with food except for bread, milk products and pastries. I had pork with potatoes au gratin and steamed vegetables… yum! Oh, and a liter of beer… One of my friends ordered “original” beers for our table. I was quite surprised when the waiter came to the table caring liter steins of beer. It was delicious beer though!

My meal at the Hofbrauhaus

My meal at the Hofbrauhaus

Later that night, we went to the fairgrounds in Theresienwiese lawn. I was awestruck. What they call “tents” are really like huge buildings that just happen to have a canvas room. Each tent seats thousands and thousands of people. Many of them also have more than one level. There are also tons of roller coaster rides, carnival games and even a huge ferris wheel! Needless to say, I was very excited to come back in the morning and spend the whole day there.

IMG_8160

The next morning we woke up at like 6:00 am to get to Oktoberfest at around 7:30 am. People start to line up to get into tents even earlier than that. Basically, you wait in line to get into the tent that you want. Then the tents doors open at 9:00 am where people flood in and start drinking beer! Unfortunately, we were running kind of late so we didn’t get a table on the ground floor, but we got one on the balcony and eventually made our way down. The way that you’re supposed to do Oktoberfest is by staying in your tent all day drinking beer and ordering the food that they have there. For some reason, my friends and I decided to leave the tent to explore the fairgrounds again. This was a terrible idea seeing as though we couldn’t get back into any tents after that. Instead, we walked around, got food from the food trucks and took in the sites. Later that night, we were able to sneak back into a different tent with some Germans that we met. The Germans are awesome and they all speak English! Plus, everyone looks better in dirndl and lederhosen 😉 Oktoberfest was a great time and I definitely hope to be back at some point in my life.

Bright and early!

Bright and early!

The view from our table

The view from our table

Finally on the ground floor with my friend, Renata!

Finally on the ground floor with my friend, Renata!

On Sunday, we did some sightseeing of Munich. We went to the BMW museum and saw the Olympic stadium. Unfortunately, we had to leave pretty early in the afternoon because it was a long 6 hour train ride back to Metz.

Olympic stadium with the BMW headquarters in the background

Olympic stadium with the BMW headquarters in the background

Leave a comment